Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
Annual Awards
Share |
Nominate an Optician for recognition using our downloadable nomination form. Nominations are due Friday, March 27, 2020 and will be presented at the Annual Conference Dinner on April 18. 



Submit a Nomination



The New York State Society of Opticians, Inc. Past NYSSO Award Recipients

Optician of the Year
Given to a dedicated NYSSO member who exemplifies the standards of the profession and the Society.
2019    Jeff Braun
2018    Stacey Nutting
2017    Renee Krajcar
2016    Mark DiMeo
2015    George Hsu
2014    Joseph and Vincent Lamberto
2013    Loretta Ackerman & Marie Coluccio
2012    Robert Russo       
2011    James Hamilton
2010    William Rich, Jr.                                      
2009    Laurie Schreiber                                                  
2008    Ethan Brown                                                            
2007    Howard Braunstein                                              
2006    Brion Shapiro
2005    Richard Bauman
2004    Carl Conklin, Jr.  
2003    Chuck Brein
2002    Robert Wallner
2001    Linda Pattington                                          
1999    Robert Stone                                               
1998    Margaret Walsh
Richard A. Terry Award
Given to a member who has made an important impact on the Society and in forwarding its mission of advancing and protecting the profession.
2019    Ethan Brown
2018    Robert Wallner
2017    Anthony Rebaldo
2016    Dale Clemens
2014    Leon Montroy
2013    Deborah Ullrich
2012    Dennis Casey
2011    Michael Buenau
2010    Thomas Guthlein
2009    Not Awarded
2008    Jayne Weinberger
2007    Arthur Todoro
2006    Laurie Schreiber
2005    Linda Pattington
2004    John Kennedy, Jr.
2003    Not Awarded
2002    Paul T. Holdaway  


Lifetime Achievement
 Presented to a member who has worked continuously at improving the profession and the standing of NYSSO as a force in ophthalmic dispensing across New York State.
2019    Carol Marx
2018    John Godert
2017    Joseph Sollecito
2016    Michael Kather
2015    Ulysses Econs 
2014    Anthony Bernard
2013    Barry E. Santini
2012    Linda Pattington
2011    Herbert Ryder
2010    William Engstrom & Robert "Ken” Sullivan (both posthumously)         
2009    Richard Bauman  
2008    Carl Conklin, Jr.      
2007    Dennis Casey       
2006    John Kennedy, Jr.
2005    Michael Buenau  
2004    Laura Frezza-Chiarello
2003    Thomas Guthlein
2002    Thomas Cogger
2000    Dean Moore 
1999    Sharon Breivogel
1998    John Kennedy, Jr.

Leadership award
Given to a devoted NYSSO member who demonstrates outstanding leadership skills, exceptional insight, and the ability to motivate their colleagues all to improve and advance our Society and Opticianry.
2019    Dale S. Clemens
2018    Laura Frezza
Optical Retailer of the Year (Sponsored by Europa Eyewear)
In 2010, NYSSO established this award to recognize a retailer whose work and practice exemplified the highest standards of the eye care profession and used retail best practices for success.
2019    Rochester Eye & Laser Center*
2018    Consumer Optical*
2017    Aodpme Eyecare
2016    C & R Vision Center
2015    Roberts Eyecare  
2014    OcuSight Eye Care Center
2013    Meade Optical
2012    Reed Eye Associates*
2011    Saratoga Vision*
2010    Raymond Opticians*
*Sponsored by Europa 


Best of the Profession
The Best of the Profession Awards were established in 2019 as an annual recognition for NYSSO members who exemplify excellence in the specialties of Ophthalmic Dispensing, Contact Lens Specialist, Ophthalmic Technology, and Industry Sales. 

2019  Ophthalmic Dispensing   David Calouri

           Contact Lens Specialist  Janet Acara

           Ophthalmic Technology  Robert Wallner

           Industry Sales Advisor   Linda Pattington


Four Under Forty Awards (sponsored by Luxottica)
The Four Under Forty Award was established in 2012 as an annual recognition of four young New York State Ophthalmic Dispensing professionals who uphold the highest ideals of the profession, give back to the profession and their communities, and who truly represent the future of the profession. 
2017     George Hadjigeorghi
             Nicholas Gianforte
             Richard Battista
             Vladislav Kagan
2016    Abigail Giddings
            Melissa Bauch
            Michael Dettman
            Stacey Nutting
2015    Michelle Alfieri-Hammell
            Virdjil Asanov
            Renee Krajcar
            Jennifer Waite
2014    Stephen Cogger
            Christina Kolkmann
            Tiffany McKinney
            Amanda Smolinski
2013    Jeffrey Paul Buenau
            Mark Divietro
            Lisha Lambert-Rivero
            Alicia Rabb
2012    Timothy Caito  
            Raymond Kolkmann, Jr
            Kimberly Passucci
            David Ranani
            *Additional recognition was given to NYSSO President Ethan J. Brown

more Calendar

NYSSO Mid-Hudson Symposium


Save the Date: Buffalo Symposium

NFOS ABO Review at del Lago Resort

Contact NYSSO


Phone: 518-694-4581

Fax: 518-432-1712



136 Everett Road

Albany, NY 12205 

An Open Letter to Opticians


NYSSO writes to all Opticians in New York State to help our fight against unlicensed Opticians.
Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal